Sushi Adventures (and the Case of the Unidentified Berry)

Now that we’re in the routine of things, I find it harder and harder to think of topics to write about. It’s all so new and exciting, but I’m facing so much everyday that it’s impossible to pick out the little things that will interest you all enough to keep reading.

So today I’m going to talk about sushi.

The city of Tel Aviv has a weird obsession with sushi. I’m not sure who thought it was a good idea to start serving raw fish in a desert locale, but there are over 100 sushi restaurants in the city and that number is continuously growing.

Fun fact: Tel Aviv is the world’s third largest sushi market per capita, behind Tokyo and NYC, and about 20% of the sushi restaurants in Tel Aviv are kosher.

If you know me, you know that I hate sushi.

I don’t like fish. Or seafood. Yeah, I’ll try it, but raw fish freaks me out. And the taste of seaweed doesn’t do anything for me.

My distaste for seafood probably has something to do with the fact that I was a picky eater growing up. Chicken nuggets, PB&J, macaroni and cheese, and hot dogs made up most of my diet. I didn’t eat chicken breast until junior high, and that was only because there was a storm at camp and we had to eat in an unusual location and there was no PB&J option like usual. I started eating red meats in high school, and now I’m questioning how I went so long without steak in my life.

FullSizeRender

Vegetables? Ha. I didn’t eat anything green until high school. Potatoes and corn made up the entirety of the vegetable block on my food pyramid. It’s a good thing I love fruit, because otherwise there would have been zero nutritional value in my diet growing up.

So back to sushi. A bunch of us ventured out to Moon Sushi last night for dinner. I tagged along, assuming I would just go home and eat leftovers afterwards. But being the foodie that I am, once we got there I knew I had to try something.

First of all, the menu was extensive. And that’s an understatement. We were handed a forty-page booklet of tartar, maki, sushi towers, temaki (sushi cones), nigiri, sashimi, sushi sandwiches (?!!), calypsos, tempura, hinari, ramen, and yakitori.

Needless to say, it took us all a good twenty minutes before we could narrow it down to decide what we actually wanted.

Since I still couldn’t get over the thought of raw fish, I ordered Pokemon (beef skewers stuffed with gouda) and a vegetarian bestseller sushi that had avocado, carrot, cucumber, sweet potato, melted gouda cheese, and teriyaki sauce.

IMG_3374

Cheese? On sushi? Yeah, it was good. Like, no-photo-because-I-ate-it-too-quickly good.

Other people ordered sushi towers and sushi sandwiches, so of course I had to snap some photos. Except the lighting sucked.

IMG_3383 IMG_3382

Unfortunately, we’re going back to Moon Sushi sometime in the next six weeks. I say “unfortunately” because it wasn’t the cheapest meal we’ve had here, and of course I peer-pressured everyone into getting gelato afterwards.

If you know me, you know that I love gelato.

And ice cream. And sorbet. And anything frozen and anything dessert and anything sweet and anything that isn’t banana-flavored.

We strolled along to a gelato place right near Shuk HaCarmel, and of course we all needed to taste at least 3 different flavors before we could decide what to actually order.

I’m not a dark chocolate fan, but the dark chocolate gelato was to die for. It was the richest, creamiest, chocolatiest thing I’ve ever tasted. Like the most incredible, purest form of creamy dark chocolate. Unreal.

I ordered half tiramisu (not sure why, but I’ve been on a tiramisu kick…it probably has something to do with the 5 shekel Cofix ice café that I crave every morning) and half cheesecake with berries and almond crumble. So good.

Ah, the elusive berry. I have no idea what kind of berry it is, and it’s driving me crazy. I had the same berry the other day at a froyo place on Rothschild (see the berries towards the back right of the cup), but the guy working just called them “berries.” It’s like a cross between a cranberry and a cherry and I don’t know what it is but it’s delicious. At the gelato place, the woman called them “forest berries.”

IMG_3355

Google couldn’t help me, so if you have any idea what this berry could be, please let me know!!

5 thoughts on “Sushi Adventures (and the Case of the Unidentified Berry)

  1. Hi Becca,

    Enjoying your blog on your culinary experiences in Tel Aviv. This is one aspect of Israel that has improved in leaps-and-bounds in the 38 years I’m here.

    Now, to your ‘mystery berries’. Gotta know Hebrew, and even then, it’s not clear. But what you were told (Forest Berries) is a direct translation of פרות יער (Peirot Ya’ar). You’d know them as either raspberries or blackberries.

    You can get them fresh, in very expensive fruit shops, for a very brief period each year–or you can pick them yourself up on the Golan Heights–probably about this time. Great cherries are definitely in-season as we speak–they should be readily-available in TA now.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I picked up some delicious cherries from the shuk the other day and they’re my go-to snack when I’m working. And thanks for solving the berry mystery! Knowing Hebrew does help with that 🙂

      Like

  2. I have a question….you said that you ordered a dish with beef skewers stuffed with gouda (which sounds delightful) but that is very very UNkosher….I didn’t expect that any place in Israel would serve beef and cheese together…can you explain? BTW, I used to hate the thought of Sushi but I eventually tried it and I love it. I don’t do raw fish but there are lots of vegetarian options (try something with Mango, avocado and cucumber….yummmmm).

    Like

  3. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

